Rigveda Samhita (4 vols.) (Sanskrit text with English translation)

Product Description
Rigveda Samhita (4 vols.) (Sanskrit text with English translation)
Edited By: Ravi Prakash Arya & K.L. Joshi Translated By: HH. Wilson & Bhasya of Sayanacarya

The Rigveda (Sanskrit: ऋग्वेद ṛgveda, from ṛc "praise, shine" and veda "knowledge") is an ancient Indian collection of Vedic Sanskrit hymns. It is one of the four canonical sacred texts (śruti) of Hinduism known as the Vedas. The text is a collection of 1,028 hymns and 10,600 verses, organized into ten books (Mandalas). A good deal of the language is still obscure and many hymns as a consequence seem unintelligible.

The hymns are dedicated to Rigvedic deities. For each deity series the hymns progress from longer to shorter ones; and the number of hymns per book increases In the earliest composed eight books the hymns predominantly discuss cosmology and praise deities. Books 1 and 10, that were added last, deal with philosophical or speculative questions about the origin of the universe and the nature of god, the virtue of Dāna (charity) in society, and other metaphysical issues in its hymns.

Rigveda is one of the oldest extant texts in any Indo-European language. Philological and linguistic evidence indicate that the Rigveda was composed in the north-western region of the Indian subcontinent, most likely between c. 1500–1200 BC, though a wider approximation of c. 1700–1100 BC has also been given.

Some of its verses continue to be recited during Hindu rites of passage celebrations such as weddings and religious prayers, making it probably the world's oldest religious text in continued use.
₹ 2,000.00

**Standard Delivery takes 10-15 working days.

**For Express Delivery Please call +91-9453478780

Weight: 1 Kg
Shipping: ₹ 110.00

Related Products